Am I Praying?

Am I Praying?

One thing that I never had in my life growing up was religion. My family just didn’t practice spirituality. I have a great-aunt who says Grace before Thanksgiving, but that is literally the extent of it. As a mom, I don’t want my children growing up that way. I thought of myself as agnostic/atheist for most of my life, and never wanted to have kids or even get married. But ALL of that changed the day I met my husband. 

We’ve been married for three and a half years, and have a 2 year old and almost 1 year old. Something changed in me, and I believe the force driving that change was God. My husband and I have tried out a few different churches since we’ve been together, but haven’t found the right fit yet. 

I have started learning about the different Christian denominations, and trying to talk to God lately, and it has drastically changed my outlook on life. But I always feel self-conscious when I pray. Nobody ever really taught me how to pray, I basically just wing it (like everything else) and hope that I’m doing it right. 

My daughter and I have been praying together before bed, and reading toddler Bible stories. I tell her this is our time to talk to God, thank Him for our blessings, and ask Him for guidance in our lives. 

I know that eventually we’ll find the right church for our families, but for now I’m just trying to do the best that I can with the resources I have available. 

5 thoughts on “Am I Praying?

  1. Pingback: Am I Praying? | Life As a Millennial Wife – Empty Nest Man

Leave a comment